Share twitter instagram facebook LinkedIn youtube

To improve our website we use google Analytics.

Our privacy statement and the privacy statement of google analytics apply.


Inga Kjer / IEP
Inga Kjer / IEP

The quarterly journal "integration" is a theory-driven and policy-related interdisciplinary forum on fundamental issues of European integration. Contemporary issues in European politics are discussed from a political and academic perspective.

The "integration" is carried out by a board of editors chaired by Prof. Dr. Frank Schimmelfennig for the Institut für Europäische Politik e.V. in cooperation with the Arbeitskreis Europäische Integration e.V. The "integration" is funded by the German Federal Foreign Office. The IEP alone is responsible for the contents. The editorial team will be happy to answer any questions or suggestions you may have.

Yearly subscription print and online

Private 78,– €; Students 44,– € // Institutions 156,– € // Single edition 22,– €

Call for papers

Authors from the fields of politics, economics, law and history as well as related disciplines who scientifically deal with fundamental questions of European integration and current European politics are cordially invited to submit essays for the review process. In particular, we encourage young scientists to offer current research results for publication.

The submission of manuscripts for the sections “Articles”, “Forum” and “Literature” is always welcome. The manuscripts must be distinguished by their originality and scientific diligence in the presentation and analysis of relevant problems of European integration. As a rule, a decision on whether to print sent manuscripts is made after the review process (“double blind peer review”) has been completed.

More infos (German): Open Call for Papers 2022

Hints for your submission: Guidelines for Authors of "integration"

Board of editors

Prof. Dr. Frank Schimmelfennig (Chair), Zurich; Dr. Katrin Böttger, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Thomas Christiansen, Rome; Prof. Dr. Friedrich Heinemann, Mannheim; Prof. Dr. Mathias Jopp, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Michèle Knodt, Darmstadt; Dr. Barbara Lippert, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Hartmut Marhold, Berlin/Nice; Prof. Dr. Franz Mayer, Bielefeld; Prof. Dr. Peter-Christian Müller-Graff, Heidelberg; Prof. Dr. Martin Nettesheim, Tübingen; Prof. Dr. Joachim Schild, Trier; Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wessels, Cologne

Editorial team

Dr. Funda Tekin (Head of editorial team, V.i.S.d.P.) // Sabine Hoscislawski, editorial assistant // Dr. Sigita Urdze, editorial assistant for the Arbeitskreis Europaeische Integration


Duration: 01 January 1992 – ongoing
Image copyright: Inga Kjer / IEP